Ten Journalists Awarded Metcalf Institute Fellowships

April 24th, 2018

The University of Rhode Island’s Metcalf Institute has awarded fellowships to ten journalists to attend Metcalf’s 20th Annual Science Immersion Workshop for Journalists. The fellows represent news organizations with regional to international audiences and were chosen from an extraordinarily competitive pool of applicants from 45 nations around the globe.

The 2018 Metcalf Institute fellows are:

  • Tony Briscoe, reporter, Chicago Tribune in Chicago, IL
  • David Martin Davies, reporter, Texas Public Radio in San Antonio, TX
  • Alok Kumar Gupta, environment editor, China Global Television Network in Beijing, China
  • Emily Holden, reporter, Politico in Washington, DC
  • Sebastien Malo, correspondent, Thomson Reuters Foundation News/Reuters in New York, NY
  • Trevor Ombija, news anchor/bilingual reporter, NTV Kenya in Nairobi
  • Katie Peikes, reporter, Delaware Public Media in Dover, DE
  • Melissa Ross, host/producer, WJCT FM/TV in Jacksonville, FL
  • Mark Scialla, reporter/producer, PBS NewsHour in Arlington, VA
  • Rosanna Xia, staff writer, Los Angeles Times in Los Angeles, CA

Read about the Metcalf fellows.

The workshop runs concurrently with Metcalf Institute’s Annual Public Lecture Series, June 11-15. Look for an announcement of the speaker line-up in May.