Microbial Literacy Collaborative

January 15th, 1997 - June 30th, 2000 | PROJECT

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM), in association with Baker & Simon Associates, The National Association of Biology Teachers, and Oregon Public Broadcasting is developing a comprehension educational project to inform the public about the microbial world and the pivotal roles that microorganism play in the life of the planet. The project components will consist of: Four One Hour Prime Time Television Programs Curriculum Guide Community Microbial Activity Guides Community Dissemination Library Exhibition Companion Trade Book World Wide Web Home Page The Principal Investigator will be Cynthia A. Needham, Associate Professor of Microbiology at Boston University School of Medicine and Adjunct Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Biology at Tufts University School of Medicine. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology. The Executive Producer for the television series is Peter Baker who recently headed production of The Astronomers and has produced numerous television series for PBS and for the BBC. Barry Marrs of Recombinant BioCatallysis, Inc., and former Director of Life Sciences for Central Research and Development of the E.I. duPont de Nemours and Company will be the Science Advisory Team Leader and will be the liaison between the Science Advisory Panel and the production staff. The advisory committee will consist of: Rita Colwell, President, University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute Yolonda George, Deputy director, Education and Human Resources Programs, AAAS Alice Huang, Dean for Science and Professor of Biology at New York University Holger Jannasch, Senior Scientist at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute Mary Lindstrom, Professor, University of Washington David Pramer, Assoc. Vice President for Research at Rutgers Moselio Schaechter, Professor of Molecular Biology and Microbiology, Tufts University Steve Morse, Assistant Professor of Biology at Rockefeller University Henry William s, Vice President for Research, University of Maryland Graduate School, Baltimore Ralph Wolfe, Professor of Microbiology, University of Illinois Bonnie Van Dorn, Executive Director, Association of Science-Technology Centers.

Project Website(s)

(no project website provided)

Team Members

Cynthia Needham, Principal Investigator, American Society For Microbiology
Wayne Carley, Co-Principal Investigator, National Association of Biology Teachers
Barbara Flagg, Evaluator, Multimedia Research


Funding Source: NSF
Funding Program: ISE/AISL
Award Number: 9614737
Funding Amount: 2211139


Audience: General Public | Museum | ISE Professionals
Discipline: Life science
Resource Type: Project Descriptions
Environment Type: Broadcast Media | Community Outreach Programs | Media and Technology | Public Programs