President Announces Nominees To Lead NSF And NOAA

August 23rd, 2013

President Obama has announced that he intends to nominate Dr. France Anne Cordova as Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Dr. Cordova is an internationally recognized astrophysicist who currently serves as the President Emeritus of Purdue University. She is also a member of the National Science Board and is Chair of the Smithsonian Institution’s Board of Regents. Dr. Cordova would succeed Dr. Subra Suresh, who resigned in March to serve as President of Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Dr. Cora Marrett is the current acting director of NSF. To learn more about Dr. Cordova, read her bio on the National Science Board web page. The President also announced his intent to nominate Dr. Kathryn Sullivan as the permanent Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Administrator. Dr. Sullivan has been acting in that position since February 2013, where she has also been the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Environmental Observation and Predictions. Dr. Sullivan has also been a member of the National Science Board and served as President and CEO of COSI in Columbus from 1996-2001. She is also a former astronaut and is the first American woman to have walked in space. To learn more about Dr. Sullivan, read her bio on the NOAA web site.